spongy front brake

8 replies to this topic
  • paulson

Posted January 07, 2007 - 05:12 PM

It all started when I blew a front fork seal but kept riding for the day. The brake quit working but I figured it was just the fork oil. I came home and bleed them and put new pads on and cleaned the disk really good but they are still really spongy. When I bleed them I tapped the line and put a pint through. Could there still be air (I dought) or did something go wrong inside.
I dont know why anything would go wrong in the caliper from oil being on the disk but I dont think there would still be any air in the line either cause there was barely any when I bleed them out.
06 yz450 w/ only about 50 hrs on it.

• christoswr

Posted January 07, 2007 - 06:15 PM

Bleeding the brakes can be a really easy thing or a pain in the ....
I'm not an expert but i would say there is still some air trapped in there.
I've done this several times in my bike in just 5 minutes but last time i did it it took me 30 minutes!!
Good luck and be patient!

• Baron Von Beard

Posted January 07, 2007 - 06:19 PM

It can be tough to get the air out. Fill the MC and pump it to make sure the pads are against the rotor. Pull the lever in and hold, crack the bleeder, close the bleeder and then, this is important, let the brake lever snap back. Don't simply release the lever, let it snap back as quickly as possible. Pump the lever back up and repeat until it feels like it's as good as it'll get, paying attention to MC level. After that, pull the caliper off the rotor and compress the piston in as far as possible to back bleed the system. This will push any air back up the line and out the MC. Be careful though because if the MC is full when you do this, fluid may over flow out the MC.

• flintlock28

Posted January 07, 2007 - 07:15 PM

Beard, what is the rationale for letting the lever "snap" back??
I've never heard this one before...