5th gear slipping/ jumping

5 replies to this topic
  • matfoo426

Posted January 03, 2007 - 01:43 PM

First of all,

Im new to Thumpertalk, so it's a big Hi 2 everybody!:lol: :confused:

I have a 2000 yz426f:ride: , and ive recently coverted it into a supermoto:crazy: .Its just had a rebuild, after running it in properly, it decided 2 open her up. Upon changing into fith gear, she seems to slip/ jump and doesnt pull cleanly:mad: . Ive took it to a yamaha dealer, where they are investigating the problem.

They have since told me it doesnt seem 2 be the clutch, as the had a look at it, and seems fine, they also said it could be the gearbox job. What could be the problem

• grayracer513

Posted January 03, 2007 - 02:27 PM

Worn locking lugs on the 5th and third pinions, along with a shift fork damaged as a result, are the usual cause of this issue.

• 02YZ426

Posted January 03, 2007 - 02:41 PM

Yep, thats going to be costly too if you let the dealer do the work. I had the same thing happen on my 426... 1 too many bad shifts I guess.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • 97chevy

Posted January 03, 2007 - 03:10 PM

Read this. http://www.thumperta...ad.php?t=443593 Also listen to SUnruh. He knows what he is talking about, and that is what it is even if you wanto to accept that fact or not.

• weedhopper

Posted January 03, 2007 - 03:18 PM

I had that exact same problem with my 03' YZ250F and I was able to fix it myself. It was the locking dogs on the gears and it would cost a little more than 100 dollars for the gears, shift fork and gaskets and other items for reassembly if you buy from TT OEM. I would reccomend doing it yourself if you have at least some experience with motors. Unless you have a lot of extra cash to dish out to your local Yamaha service shop.

• matfoo426

Posted January 04, 2007 - 10:46 AM

Thanks guys,

Best i get the parts list out then:mad:

Related Content