Will an aftermarket triple clamp help? o6 450

26 replies to this topic
  • jgerdi

Posted December 20, 2006 - 07:46 AM

I still have another month before I can ride again, broken hip . I'm thinking about getting myself a set of triple clamps for x-mas and was wondering if the $$/benefit was worth it. I can't find the article but I beleave it said the applied 27m top and bottom set improved the 06 450's cornering.

• Ranger18

Posted December 20, 2006 - 08:06 AM

I'm no expert but that sounds backwords. The stock clamp is 25mm and some people talk about going to a 24mm, but I would find something else to spend my money on, because unless your Pro I doubt you need the clamps. I still have the stock front tire on my bike and I can get my 06 turning so well you would think it was on rails, I have never been on a bike that turned as well as this bike. Granted I have never been on an 07, but I cant imagine that with my skill (far from great) that I would get it to turn any better than my 06.
If your having trouble turning, I would look into new tires, check your tire pressure (I like 12-13lbs for my track), make sure your suspension is set for your weight, and your sag is correct. All of these make a huge difference even the tire pressure.

• jgerdi

Posted December 20, 2006 - 08:19 AM

You're probably right. There is no magic fix to poor riding, but sometimes when looking at all the bling you start believing in Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny. I do run my tire preasure around 15-16 becouse of a family vacation at durhamtown when i changed abunch of flats on hard pack with rocks.

• Yamahafan

Posted December 20, 2006 - 10:25 AM

I believe the consenus is to raise the forks in the triple clamps to the line (which lowers the front-end) and setting the rear shock race sag at 95 to 98 mm, (which raises the rear-end) shifting more weight on to the front-end. This is essentially what Yamaha did with the 2007's by making the rear shock shaft 1.5mm longer.