Getting the damned seat off

10 replies to this topic
  • pjpoo

Posted December 19, 2006 - 08:28 PM

I'm new to the XR650.

I can't figure out how to get the damned seat off for access to wiring/top of the air box. I spent 20 minutes trying. I pulled the front portion up and heard something pop. I don't know if it was a good pop or a bad pop, hahah.... :thumbsup:

What a wimp I must be! ARGH!

Anyway, pointers?

Any free manual online available for download?

EDIT: I found a XR650R manual. I see two bolts shown towards the rear. I found two bolts on my seat and removed them and the seat didn't seem to budge after that... :devil:

I'll try some more and then come back to check...

• chpxr

Posted December 19, 2006 - 08:36 PM

ok there's 2 bolts under the seat facing outwards take those out lift the back up then slide the front of the seat down and back and it should come right off

• pjpoo

Posted December 19, 2006 - 08:38 PM

I'll see what's up. For some reason two bolts on the outside of the subframe were not immediately apparent...

• chpxr

Posted December 19, 2006 - 08:50 PM

glad you got it worked out:ride:

• pjpoo

Posted December 19, 2006 - 09:29 PM

Yeah, it was the two bolts on the under/inside of the subframe. For whatever reason the first time I undid those I didn't get the seat to budge...

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • frankstr

Posted December 20, 2006 - 06:30 AM

Glad you figured it out, pjpoo....Welcome to Thumpertalk....

:thumbsup: :devil:

• needsprayer

Posted December 20, 2006 - 06:51 AM

I'm new to the XR650.

I can't figure out how to get the damned seat off for access to wiring/top of the air box. I spent 20 minutes trying.

Warning: Always wear a boot when kickstarting the BRP. That girl can slap you silly.

:thumbsup:

• pburke

Posted December 20, 2006 - 07:32 AM