'94 XR650L battery draining/electrical issue

15 replies to this topic
  • pjpoo

Posted December 19, 2006 - 06:42 PM

Bottom line, it was a bum bike when I bought. Started up and seemingly ran well. I bought when my foot was broken (lowsiding my streetbike on the track), so I couldn't ride. 2 weeks later I went to start it up and there was barely any juice. The starter barely turned over.

I bought a Deltec Battery Tender Jr from Cyclegear. It performs a bulk charge, and then maintains with a float charge.

The battery charged up. I left it off the charger for a week and checked the voltages. The battery was good, so I threw it on the bike. I got my gear ready for riding and went back out to the bike 30 minutes or so later. Battery was low on juice and could barely turn the starter over...

So something seems to be draining the battery, a short or something running hot. No? I'm new to electrics, and I just bought a multimeter.

Any advice, recommendations on troubleshooting, or pointers in general?

There is some other pertinent facts, such as a Cyclegear battery in place of the stock battery, and the wiring moved to the airbox. I'll have some pictures and relevant facts posted here later tonight.

• Kyle_E

Posted December 19, 2006 - 06:56 PM