New 400 owner

12 replies to this topic
  • SpceSpff

Posted December 17, 2006 - 09:27 PM

Hey guys, just got a 99' YZ400F today. My first dirt bike. I have very little dirt bike experience, but I owned a 2002 300EX for a couple years, and have about 20,000 street bike miles under my belt.

Just wanted to introduce myself, and post a few pics. I will be on here a whole bunch. One question also. I did a few hot laps down my street (:thumbsup: ) and at one point, I was in neutral and was looking behind me while stopped. I reach to depress the clutch and hit the decompression lever on accident. The engine died immediately. It did start right up on the first or second kick however. Should I be worried? Thanks!

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

• xxdemzxx

Posted December 17, 2006 - 10:29 PM

Nice clean looking bike, and no pulling in the lever didnt do any damage.

• 642MX

Posted December 18, 2006 - 07:23 AM

Welcome to TT.

Nice bike, very clean. I'd recommend getting rid of the decompression lever. Check the top of the page, grayracer has started a thread that has links to all the FAQ about the YZF's.

• buzzgrizz

Posted December 18, 2006 - 08:14 AM

I have those same graphics and if there new the tank wil look good for a couple of weeks and the bubble badly the the white part on the tank will turn brownish. I put my new graphics on my 426 went on a trip for a week came back and the tank was all bubbled. But very nice bike.

• SpceSpff

Posted December 18, 2006 - 08:33 AM

Thanks guys.

How does that affect starting, with the lever removed?

Also, I heard that a blow dryer can get rid of the faded areas of the blue plastics. Is this true?

• jayh300

Posted December 18, 2006 - 09:09 AM