About to buy a 2006 YZ450F and need some info.

19 replies to this topic
  • red7

Posted December 14, 2006 - 10:56 PM

I've been going back and forth for the last month or so but I think I've made the decision to pick up a new '06 YZ450 and sell my WR450. It's tough because I love that WR on the trails but I've started to ride track quite a bit and the WR suspension is killing me. I have a few questions that you guys could help me out with.

1. It sounds like the stock gearing is great for track but I'll also be doing quite a bit of trail riding some tight medium speed stuff and some wide open(no really slow technical) stuff. Is there a compromise gearing I could do where my bike would perform great on the track but still open up on the trails? Do you recommend just having 2 front sprockets and changing them out depending upon what I'm riding or can I find something to bridge he gap between trail and track? I'm a track newbie (only ridden 5 days) and the WR is my first bike so the WR gearing seems ok for me on the track since I don't have anything to compare it to. I'm learning quick and already feel comfortable on 30'+ doubles (hoping to try a 45' triple soon) and guys at the track are telling me I don't know what I'm missing in a mx bike. I say this to point out that even if I widen the gearing a little I probably won't mind it as it will be better than my WR on the track. Also, I'm 33 and have zero desire to start racing at the track so I'm just out to have fun and get some air time (man, flying is addicting!!!).

2. What is a flywheel and how does the weight effect it. Probably a dumb question but I've been told that a heavier fly weight will make the YZ perform better on trails. What are the trade offs on the track?