??Suspension Mods??

7 replies to this topic
  • arnie230

Posted December 13, 2006 - 11:10 PM

In the wide scheme of things is it worth getting suspension work done like a gold valve etc.. and weight appropriate springs??? I am 5'11 and 220. I have an '06 YZ450 and i am a Vet "C" rider. I race probably 10 times a year. The engine has plenty of power and I have a good handle on jetting. I am looking for bang for the buck basically.

• Ga426owner

Posted December 14, 2006 - 05:22 AM

In the wide scheme of things is it worth getting suspension work done like a gold valve etc.. and weight appropriate springs??? I am 5'11 and 220. I have an '06 YZ450 and i am a Vet "C" rider. I race probably 10 times a year. The engine has plenty of power and I have a good handle on jetting. I am looking for bang for the buck basically.

Yes it is well worth it. Your 06 is undersprung for your weight and needs .48/5.6kg springs. Also your speed will increase as your confidence will get stronger on jumps and landings as well as cornering....:thumbsup:
I never had much luck with RaceTech gold valves.....my suspension guru "LSD Racing" does my valving and it is spot on. I would see who in your area is either Factory Connection certified or other for best bang for the bucks

• grayracer513

Posted December 14, 2006 - 08:57 AM

LSD Racing

You entered that shop for the first time somewhat cautiously, I assume?

Everything Ga426owner says is true. It would be a little less true in the case of an '06 ridden by someone in the 165-180 pound range, because the '06 suspension is extremely good stock, and that's the weight it's built for. But the more you vary from that, the more it can be improved. Having the spring rate wrong, either way, for your weight will make more difference in the way the suspension works than anything will.

• Ga426owner

Posted December 14, 2006 - 11:54 AM

You entered that shop for the first time somewhat cautiously, I assume?