EFI....When?

12 replies to this topic
  • Fullbore4

Posted December 12, 2006 - 11:55 PM

Has anyone heard or read when WR's will get EFI?

• lixno

Posted December 13, 2006 - 01:34 AM

I am an editor at the best Greek motorcycle magazine called "MOTO". Last week i talked with Huub Forschelen, Yamaha's Off Road racing director in Europe, and he said that until 2010 we won't probably see EFI on the production bikes. This system has still many problems and needs development.

• Wasabi

Posted December 13, 2006 - 01:55 AM

Last week i talked with Huub Forschelen, Yamaha's Off Road racing director in Europe, and he said that until 2010 we won't probably see EFI on the production bikes.

It's unfortunate, but I still think it will be a few more years also.
I wouldn't be holding my breath anyway.

• ophir

Posted December 13, 2006 - 01:57 PM

I am a bit confused when they say there is problems. Yamaha has been putting them on snow machines for years and Suzuki has them on the 450 quad. The system on the quad works fine.

• MSHAM

Posted December 13, 2006 - 02:04 PM

Can the 450 quad system be utilized on th wr450?

• jonova

Posted December 14, 2006 - 11:32 AM

Well that's not good news.... I guess I'll just have to get an 07 to tide me over in the mean time.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • SUnruh

Posted December 14, 2006 - 11:35 AM

and the Raptor 700R has efi:

MSRP* $7,199 (Team Yamaha Blue) Available from July 2006
$7,199 (Gray) Available from July 2006
Engine
Type 686cc, liquid-cooled, SOHC 4-stroke single w/fan, 4-valve
Bore x Stroke 102mm x 84mm
Compression Ratio 9.2:1
Carburetion Yamaha Fuel Injection (YFI) , 44mm
Ignition 16-Bit ECU

• Flaminchiten1967

Posted December 14, 2006 - 01:14 PM

I read somewhere that the KTM is going to fuel injection next year....I think it was in my Dirt Bike magazine I can check when I get home.

• snmhanson

Posted December 14, 2006 - 04:05 PM