Rode my new to me 426 this weekend

10 replies to this topic
  • fishwater

Posted December 10, 2006 - 02:43 PM

WOW is all I can say at this point. We went to the railroad beds figuring it would be a good place to get used to the bike. Well this thing is awesome! The power was excellent, coming off a 250 two stroke this bike feels more like a motorcycle. I have never had a four stroke & need to start riding it like a four stroke. I found out today when I let it lug in second gear I can pick my way through some tight stuff. My buddy described it the same way after getting off his YZ, it just feels like a motorcycle. You can certainly feel the extra weight, I am sure when I get into a tight trail this may become more obvious. I can see this bike will be quite a handfull until I get some more time under my belt. BTW, I just started riding again after a 5 year lay off.

A little back ground on the bike, it is a 2001 YZF 426. I found it on this site & bought it from a real nice guy. The bike is in excellent condition is probably the real reason why I bought it & tried a four stroke. I replaced a 1992 RM 250 with this bike which is a complete night & day difference. I paid a fair price for the bike. He had been trying to sell it for some time I guess. I paid $1850 & the bike was in excellent condition with a ton of add ons. Excell rims, Talon hubs, Easton bars, Moose handguards, GYT top triple clamp, Yosh exhaust, brand new Maxcross IT's front & rear, new chain & sproket plus an extra tank & seat. I have no clue why someone else didn't get it before me but THANK YOU.