Does your XR600R smell warm in these conditions...

7 replies to this topic
  • dangerranger21

Posted November 28, 2006 - 05:36 PM

Well I am still a noob owner with the XR600R, but today for the first time in 24 degree weather I decided to take it down the driveway and back and after warming up a bit it smelt very warm... Everything is up to check on this bike, would the warm smells be comming from such a cold air? Just wanna hear some replys on thoughts... Thanks

• BRPXL600R

Posted November 28, 2006 - 06:53 PM

What do you mean warm smell????

• Desert Dog Z400S

Posted November 28, 2006 - 06:55 PM

Warm like traces of oil seepage getting hot and stinking or warm like coolant boilover?

• dangerranger21

Posted November 28, 2006 - 06:58 PM

Warm like traces of oil seepage getting hot and stinking or warm like coolant boilover?

Yes, pretty much like that... Like motor over heating... its a 93XR600

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BRPXL600R

Posted November 28, 2006 - 07:08 PM

Do you have a oil temp guage? Or even a Raytek IR temp guage? If you bring your bike up here I could take a peek at it and let you use my new Oil temp stick to check your oil temp. You can get a IR temp guage at Harbor Freight tools for around $25-30.

• Owyhee

Posted November 29, 2006 - 06:38 AM

Well I am still a noob owner with the XR600R, but today for the first time in 24 degree weather I decided to take it down the driveway and back and after warming up a bit it smelt very warm... Everything is up to check on this bike, would the warm smells be comming from such a cold air? Just wanna hear some replys on thoughts... Thanks

At least your bike starts at 24 degrees. Id' be happy to have the "burning" smell over the smell of my sweat kicking for 30 minutes or pushing it to the top of a hill to bump start it.