GrayRacer!! Some questions perhaps?

8 replies to this topic
  • Smokeslider

Posted November 20, 2006 - 06:28 PM

Alright, since it appears that you are very knowledgeable on all subjects of the YZ450F, I've got a few questions that other folks may be able to learn from as well.
1st. I've just bought an 06' YZ450, It has 1.2 hours on it now that I have broken it in, I have done the first oil change, do I need to really replace the front fork oil like the manual suggests?
2nd. I'm 6'5" and about 230 lbs. what setups will need to get done very soon besides taller bars. Do I have to get stiffer springs?
2rd. All this business about the fuel screw, what do I really need to know and do about it.
I'm a beginner rider in the northwest riding at anywhere from 500' to 5000' elevation. I would like to ride as much track as I can but am also riding some trails. Let me know however you can help. Thanks in advance for the help.

• 642MX

Posted November 20, 2006 - 07:22 PM

You can use the PM feature to contact grayracer too, that way, I won't be tempted to add my 2 cents.

• Dr.Crankenstien

Posted November 20, 2006 - 07:32 PM

Chad how does that bike feel underneath you?How is the transition from sitting to standing and vice versa?Do you think a tall seat foam and tall bars with taller bar mounts will help?Maybe lowboy footpegs?.
Also what bike are you coming off of?
The reason for me asking is I am 6'7" 230lb and was looking to get on one of these bikes but was hearing there really cramped compared to the other 450's.
Good luck with your new ride & Thanks for any feedback.

• grayracer513

Posted November 20, 2006 - 08:00 PM

You can use the PM feature to contact grayracer too, that way, I won't be tempted to add my 2 cents.

Your two cents is worth the same as any other.

My answer is(are):

1) Changing the fork oil is a good idea, but you might wait to see if you are going to do some more work on them, because