Valve Adjustment Interval for WR426

18 replies to this topic
  • vospertw

Posted November 20, 2006 - 12:40 PM

I downloaded a copy of the owners manual for a 2001 WR426. It listed the valve adj. interval as 600 miles. Now... I'm new to the dirt bike scene, and coming from KLR's and DR's with intervals of 6000 or 7500 miles, I just about had a heart attack. As I think about it though, 600 miles is probably close to the same interval in time if the bike is only used in the dirt and not as an all-purpose bike like my DR. Is the 600 mile adjustment interval reasonable for a dirt bike, and should I stop crying about it and just buy one?? Thanks!

• bigdrtrdr

Posted November 20, 2006 - 03:14 PM

I downloaded a copy of the owners manual for a 2001 WR426. It listed the valve adj. interval as 600 miles. Now... I'm new to the dirt bike scene, and coming from KLR's and DR's with intervals of 6000 or 7500 miles, I just about had a heart attack. As I think about it though, 600 miles is probably close to the same interval in time if the bike is only used in the dirt and not as an all-purpose bike like my DR. Is the 600 mile adjustment interval reasonable for a dirt bike, and should I stop crying about it and just buy one?? Thanks!

My valves have been checked twice in over 6000 miles.
1.after break in
2.when I installed an 03 YZ Auto comp. cam.

Check em and forget em....Hondas these bikes are not.

• 642MX

Posted November 20, 2006 - 03:18 PM

Thats just a recommended interval. A more reasonable interval is twice a year.

• vospertw

Posted November 20, 2006 - 08:20 PM

Thanks for the info. Makes me feel a lot better. Two inspections a year - not unreasonable.

• J_DOGG

Posted November 21, 2006 - 07:01 AM