WR426 and some advice

12 replies to this topic
  • vospertw

Posted November 18, 2006 - 07:20 AM

Hey folks, I currently ride a DR650 which is my commuting to work bike and my dirt bike for Baja. I'm pretty new to the dirt and would like to get a "real" dirt bike to practice on - tough to learn good techniques on a bike that weighs 360+ with gear and a couple gallons of gas. That, and I'd hate to dump it trying to push the edge since I need it on Monday mornings to head to work. I'm a fairly experienced street rider, 6'2" 185lbs, so I've been looking at bikes in the 400cc range.

I have an opportunity to buy a 2002 WR426F. First of all, are there any particular issues with this year/model? Second, for you guys in CA, would this be a PITA to make street legal? Is it worth trying to make one of these bikes street legal, or does it cause problems with the electrical system, add too much weight etc.? Or should I just keep it simple, throw it in the back of the truck, and drive it to the trails?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

• Birdy426

Posted November 18, 2006 - 10:08 AM

It's a great bike, as reliable as a tank. They aren't tough to DS, you cqn eihter go with a kit like Trick or BD and spend about 500 bucks and 4 or 5 hours to install, or pick up all the bits yourself for 200-250 and spend about 2 days building the harnesses etc and get exactly what YOU want. No issues, either. The switch, flush mount turn signals, and mirror don't add that much weight. The trick is getting it through the DMV to get a plate. Check in the Cali and DS forums for stories that range from Piece of Cake to No F'in way!, then decide for yourself if you want to take the plunge.

The WRs are a great ride with lots of performance potential, and as I said earlier, are stone reliable. Mine is DS'd and I love it.

• MN_Paul

Posted November 18, 2006 - 06:40 PM