New to forum, need advice

11 replies to this topic
  • TedG

Posted November 17, 2006 - 12:01 PM

I am new to the forum and need some advice. First a little bit about myself, in the late 60s and 70s I was a motorcycle mechanic, factory trained Yamaha, Kawasaki, Suzuki, Triumph, KTM, CanAm, Husky, BMW, just to name a few. I raced flat track for many years, did some road racing, and still do my best to tear up the back roads with a Kwak ZX10R. I still have a 75 Penton(KTM) Mint 400, a KTM 500 (2 stroke), A ZX12 and the 10. So much about me .
I have a Cycle Factory flat track frame with Kosman wheels, Ceriani road race forks, Champion Glass, that I want to make into a street bike and maintain the classic flat tracker look. I am and was a Kenny Roberts fan. So I was thinking to put a Yamaha motor into that frame and the perfect motor would be the 450wr. Electric start, wide ratio gearbox, something to loft wheelies at the flick of the wrist and paint in the traditional Yamaha yellow and black.
So here is the question, can I get a 450wr motor anywhere, preferably used up and needs rebuilding or am I going to have to get a crate motor? And does anyone know of any sources of motors aside from going to a Yamaha shop and getting hosed down?
Thank in advance,

• JRAMBO

Posted November 17, 2006 - 12:17 PM

Some times E-bay has them as kart motors.Be hard to check it out unless it was close to you though but for the right price I guess it would work.

• clark4131

Posted November 17, 2006 - 12:29 PM

Beyond the crate motor option, I'd have to say eBay as well. I can't recall seeing any for sale here. It might be a good idea to peruse the classifieds just to get an idea how often they pop up and what they go for...SC

• ADVnaut

Posted November 17, 2006 - 12:44 PM