Thinking of buying 01 YZ426??

28 replies to this topic
  • crh624

Posted November 16, 2006 - 07:35 PM

I'm new to TT. A friend gave me the link to this forum...
I'm a 37 yr old who raced C and B class, 10 yrs ago (CR250). While I have remained an avid motorcycle enthusiast and rider, I have not been in the dirt for some time. My son has a KX80 and I want a bike to ride with him on weekends. I have ridden a couple of 250Fs and an 05 YZF450, and I love the 4 strokes! I wish I had one back in the day!
I've read through this forum extensively, and there seems to be alot of great advice and refference material.
I have not seen this 426 yet, but a friend of mine has it and is said to have little time on it. He is the second owner and does not ride it. I'm pretty sure I could pick this bike up for around 2K. I'm in excellent phys shape and very competitive. Is this a good bike for me, or should I find a 450F around the same price range? My riding pref is MX, but will also do quite a bit of trail riding with the family. My son wants to try a bit of weekend racing at the local MX track (Hidden Valley MX, Tn) and I'm sure I'll want to get back into the C class or +35... Concerns?? Thanks for the advice.

• 642MX

Posted November 16, 2006 - 08:16 PM

Welcome to TT!

IMO, the 426 is the best all around bike out there. They where made for MX, but they handle trails really well. They are nearly bullet proof and easy to maintain. I love mine!

• martybec

Posted November 16, 2006 - 08:55 PM

Your story is almost a mirror image to me .
A year ago I bought a 426 and have sinse ran a few hare scramble and 1 mx with it. It works OK for woods, but I want to get a flywheel weight to tame it a bit. Oh and do the 450 exhaust cam swap it is worth it!

• motobeck

Posted November 17, 2006 - 07:35 AM