05 slow starter on the button

10 replies to this topic
  • Pete Thomo

Posted November 07, 2006 - 09:50 AM

Hi lads
my 05 wr450 is a great starter hot or cold on the kick but thumb the button and it struggles but will eventually fire thing is my mates 03 seems to turn over much faster and fires staight away any ideas:cry:

• hotthrottle613

Posted November 07, 2006 - 09:56 AM

Go to www.thumperfaq.com and look up .79 cent clutch fix.

• drtbk4ever

Posted November 07, 2006 - 10:00 AM

Hi lads
my 05 wr450 is a great starter hot or cold on the kick but thumb the button and it struggles but will eventually fire thing is my mates 03 seems to turn over much faster and fires staight away any ideas:cry:

OK, I am no expert. I am just conveying what I have read on this forum over the last year.

First question is how well your battery is charged. It wouldn't hurt to put it on a battery tender overnight to see if that makes any difference.

The next thing may be jetting. Perhaps someone who knows what they are talking about could come forward with some specific recommendations. This may expain why your buddies bike starts easier than yours.

I was also going to mention the clutch, but someone already beat me to it.

• Pete Thomo

Posted November 07, 2006 - 10:17 AM

There is no problem with selecting gears and getting neutral ill try the battery then the 6mm washers in the clutch the jetting seems fine starts great on the kick all the time
thanks all
thomo

• old man dan

Posted November 07, 2006 - 10:26 AM

Do you have the stock cams or have you changed to Hotcams or YZ cams. They seem to be more reluctant starters (on E-start) with anything but the WR cams. Check the valve clearance, hard starting is one of the first signs that the clearances are tightening up, also if the idle is set too high (or low) it seems to make a difference. Kicking spins the engine over a bit faster so they start more readily.