What's the best way to start a YZF426?

17 replies to this topic
  • SoCalDirtRider67

Posted November 01, 2006 - 10:43 AM

hi, i am new to the 4-stroke seen. bought a 2001 YZF426 and when i get it started, it's awesome. i've been having trouble figureing out how to start it. i got the copm release down but not sure the best way to kick on it. it seems when i kick it hard, it won't start. when i kick it softly, it tends to start easier. any advice on starting these things?

• 00YZ426FMRCD

Posted November 01, 2006 - 10:53 AM

Welcome to TT - Click on the following:

http://www.thumperta...rting procedure

• Dano426

Posted November 01, 2006 - 12:44 PM

1. 03 Cam mod
3. Valves in spec ?
2. Clean Carb

• jayh300

Posted November 01, 2006 - 03:27 PM

when I first got my 1999 yz400f I struggled starting it too. The main thing in learn the starting procedures. they are posted in many threads in this forum.do a search, you will learn some really cool stuff. Try to get a manual on the bike , that will help you a ton.