15 replies to this topic
  • bosssmannn

Posted October 25, 2006 - 02:45 PM

I just bought a 00' 426 and love it. I have a lot of experience on street bikes but trying to learn to play in the dirt. I noticed that my handlebars seem a little low for me. We went to the track yesterday and am slOOOwly learning. Which kind of set up do yall recommend. The stock bars I assume are on there now. I do trails and would like to get to the track some too. I am 6'6 230 lbs without gear. I know my suspension needs some heavier springs too.

• barch88

Posted October 25, 2006 - 02:49 PM

I have some Renthal Twinwalls (Windham bend) on my '06, and their much better than the stock ones. I'm 5'11" and they are perfect height.

• grayracer513

Posted October 25, 2006 - 03:23 PM

Windhams are 14mm higher than the YZ bend on your 426, if in fac t, they are a YZ bend. Personally, I like the YZ on my '03, which is somewhat different than an '06, and more like yours.

You may find the Windham too high, maybe not. An alternative is the Reed/Henry bend, which is 9-10mm higher.

• cowboyona426

Posted October 25, 2006 - 07:54 PM

bosssmannn, on my 00 I had Henry/Reed bend Pro Tapers with universal adapters and lowered footpegs... I'm 6'2" and I really liked it.

• dmoney2023

Posted October 25, 2006 - 08:03 PM

Pro-taper SE. I got the YZ high bend. You can get them off ebay for $50 including shipping. They're sweet. You don't have to change your clamp or anything, and that's good, cause you're probably going to crash a bit while you are still learning.

• kyle450rider

Posted October 25, 2006 - 08:20 PM

As tall as you are you might like a real tall set of bars such as the cr double high tag bars.As far as i know they are the tallest set of bars on the market as of today.If that doesnt work you could always get some four wheeler bars for your bike.

• yamahacrazy_310

Posted October 26, 2006 - 06:22 AM