44 replies to this topic
  • Brent McCabe

Posted October 19, 2006 - 12:03 PM

I'm very new to mx'in and have as my first bike a 2006 WR450 with all the "free" mod's and about $500 worth of other mods made to my bike (thanks to all the information I have pulled-off of this awesome web site). My question is this (and I'm sorry if this has already been asked, I couldn't find it)
I watch people where I ride in the desert and they don't seem to have any trouble getting the front-end up, while in motion. I have tried gunning the throttle, popping the clutch, and all that happens is my back tire spins-out. Even at a dead stop on concrete, the back tire mostly spins! I have scooted my fanny as far back on the seat as I can and that helps a little. Any advice one of you experianced rider's could give a "rookie" would be greatly appreciated.

• Just_a_trail_rider

Posted October 19, 2006 - 02:29 PM

if the back tire spins out, try getting a new one. I though I was going to die with that stock rear tire. The only thing sticking was the sh!t to my pants! It was all over the place. (I thought the stock front tire was even more slippery)

A better rear tire will hook up better and that front end will definitely come up when you lean back a little and gas it. Caution: if you get a better tire, DO NOT sit on concrete, gun the throttle and dump the clutch. (If you do, be sure to tape it so we all can see :devil:)

Also, getting good traction on concrete is not a good criteria for selecting a new rear tire. I

I'm no expert, but this is my opinion.

• SteveWR450F

Posted October 19, 2006 - 02:42 PM

Its important he learns how to compress the front forks and then roll on the throttle as the shocks rebound. Easiest way for me to get a wheelie going without being too hard on the trani like popping the clutch.

But . . the WR is not a wheelie machine. It definately can be done but there are a lot better bikes with lighter front ends . . .

• NavyNuke

Posted October 19, 2006 - 02:48 PM