Excited

13 replies to this topic
  • ezl_oo

Posted October 10, 2006 - 05:16 AM

Ok guys I just bought a 01 yz426f yesterday and its my first big motorcross bike. I have had plenty of street bikes and currently have a 04' R1. Starting up the bike is very confusing for me, could someone please explain it for me? Also, the guy I bought it off says that I have to run it for about 20 mins and keep on reving the bike before it starts to idle and stay running on its own. If I was to ride it for a little bit and not keep giving it gas it will shut off on me. Im new to the game, so if someone would be kind enough to explain the 01' yz426f to me I would appreciate it very much!

• SoZo

Posted October 10, 2006 - 05:22 AM

doesn't sound right to me. I have a 04 250 and I choke it, kick it 2 or 3 times and it starts. I dont give it any gass when starting as is the norm for 4 stroke dirt bikes. I let it warm for 1 minute and turn the choke off and it idles... On my bike depending on the time of year I will set the idle somewhat...

I would check the plug first. How is the compression? Is it very easy to kick over?

• 00YZ426FMRCD

Posted October 10, 2006 - 05:30 AM

Weclome to TT and the world of YZ. The following link should help:

http://www.thumperta...rting Procedure

Follow to the T. My 426 always starts within 2-3 kicks and I still have the Decomp lever.

PS. No need to let the bike run and idle for 20 minutes. It will probably overheat if you do so. It should be warmed up within 2 - 3 minutes...If it is not idling after you take the choke off, you need to adjust the idle or possibly have some other issue.

- RCD

• tnl

Posted October 10, 2006 - 12:02 PM

Also, the guy I bought it off says that I have to run it for about 20 mins and keep on reving the bike before it starts to idle and stay running on its own.

Sounds like a bunch of @%$#@#$% that someone would say to make a sale to come thru?

• ezl_oo

Posted October 10, 2006 - 01:23 PM