New Guy Here From Oregon/Washington

5 replies to this topic
  • turbowhine

Posted October 09, 2006 - 09:19 AM

Hey everybody! I'm goin' to pick up my new bike tomorrow: a used '94 XR650L. I'm really excited to ride on some mellow dirt roads to start with and work my way up in the genre. I've never ridden a dirt bike of any kind. I do a ton of street riding on an 'o3 RC51, mostly long trips and a few track days. I've been riding for about three years. I'm a younger guy @ 22 and I work as a merchant mariner (engineering). I love working on my own bikes, and anyone elses for that matter! This forum was recommended to me by a buddy and so far it's been great reading.

Here's a photo of myself above Hell's Canyon, Oregon taken this past August.

Posted Image

• Billahjack

Posted October 09, 2006 - 12:09 PM

Welcome!! I made the switch from a RC51 to a XR650R. Be careful on the street until you get some experience, it doesn't lean over as far in most conditions. I washed out my front in parking lots a few times screwing around. They take more maintenance than a street bike but its so much more fun when you can ride street and dirt on the same bike.

• justicedone

Posted October 09, 2006 - 05:19 PM

I sold my 96 Cbr900rr in 04, for a mint (600mi) 2003 XR650L that was showroom new and bone stock. The bike has to be the best all around bike I have ever owned, and at 41yrs of age thats been about 15 bikes at least. Its a blast to ride especially when modded preoperly, and can go anywhere. You will love it especially where you live, since theres a ton of good adventuring to be had I can imagine.

I am sure your gonna like it on road too, its more comfortable sitting up and you can see traffic and sights so much better. Run a full synthetic oil, check level often and change oil about every 500-700mi. And adjust valves when needed, they are otherwise bulletproof.