XR650R leaking fuel everywhere...

6 replies to this topic
  • DR650Tom

Posted October 02, 2006 - 06:07 PM

Hello everyone, I'm new to XR's and need some help. In July, I purchased a 2003 XR650R. The bike has been modified to Dual Sport specs by a local motorcycle shop (the bike was built for the owner of the bike shop). The owner rode it only a couple hundred street miles before deciding to build a CRF450 for Hare Scrambles and sold the XR to me. Unfortunately, I was in a car accident shortly after buying the bike and haven't been able to ride it. :lame: The bike has been sitting in the corner of my garage for about four months collecting dust. However, when I went to pull my car into the garage tonight after work I noticed the smell of gasoline. I looked around and found a big puddle of gas under the XR, coming from one of the rubber drain hoses directly in front of the rear tire. :p After sitting for months, why is my XR all of a sudden puking fuel on the ground? :thumbsup: With winter coming and the fact that the garage is heated (natural gas), I need to fix this problem right away so my house don't go boom. I've owned many bikes over the years and this is the first time I ever seen a bike leak fuel from just sitting.

I should also note that the bike is not stock. It has a 6 gallon Acerbis fuel tank, FMF Power Bomb pipe and Q2 series muffler, HRC Hop Up kit, jet kit, and Baja Designs Dual Sport kit, among other things. I'm including some pics of the bike in case I left anything out. Thanks in advance for the help!

http://i52.photobuck...om/Dsc02495.jpg
http://i52.photobuck...om/Dsc02499.jpg

On a side note, how do I change my name from DR650Tom to XR650Tom? Obviously I don't ride a Suzuki anymore.

• tttpuls1

Posted October 02, 2006 - 06:52 PM