Baby Mechanic Steps....

6 replies to this topic
  • squatpuke

Posted September 29, 2006 - 02:57 PM

If you may remember...I'm a noob and scared of wrenches.

However, I want to mod my 07L....

I think I can handle the skid plate, fin, gas tank...

but the uncork, unsnork and exhaust all have me worried...

Of those three, the unsnorkling seems easiest...

Do I just buy the kit, pull the snorkle off and screw in the kit? Do I have to take carb or seat off?

Would this be the easiest engine mod for a newb such as me?

Thanks.

• olinmat

Posted September 29, 2006 - 03:08 PM

Don't be scared of wrenching on your bike. Get the Honda manual and some torque wrenches.

I used to be scared too. Just start into some stuff and you will gradually start learning a few things. Bikes are not too complicated.

Good luck.

• jbird710

Posted September 29, 2006 - 05:24 PM

Don't be scared of wrenching on your bike. Get the Honda manual and some torque wrenches.

Before you pulling things off and changing things up, do as olimat says and get a manual. You can pick up a Clymer manual cheap at most shops or online. The best is the Honda manual and you can find these cheap on eBay if you want to deal with all of that. Or you can buy the factory manual online from Helm Inc. http://www.helminc.c...4VEXJLBDQ8D2U9D
Their site says the 2007 manual hasn't been released. But if you ask for a 2006; you'll be fine. There's no difference in the bikes other than the year model. Read up on the parts you want to change before tearing into it and you'll have no problems.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • LandSharkGT

Posted September 29, 2006 - 05:48 PM