total noob here... telling you a little about myself

10 replies to this topic
  • TL426

Posted September 25, 2006 - 05:54 PM

Hello everyone... i just bought a 2001 Yamaha YZF 426 last wednesday. alright, i know im stupid but to be really honest i havent ridden dirtbike for about 7 years. the last dirtbike i had was an XR70 honda when i was 9 ( ill be 16 in a month ). so i went to a friends place to ride and my steering shaft bushing on my fourwheeler broke, and steering stems are about $200 so i decided to ride his honda 230. keep in mind, first dirtbike i had ever ridden with a clutch, first dirtbike ridden in probably 7 years. so i rode it and enjoyed it alot. so i scoured the papers for a cheap 4 stroke and i saw a 426. i knew it was waaaaay too much bike for me but i thought id go test ride it anyways. so i test rode it and it scared the sh*t outta me, but i loved it. ive been riding a 1999 Polaris Sport 400 with too many mods to list ( compares to a new LTR450 4 wheeler or raptor 700 in acceleration, will edge them out by a little ) for about 5 years and i wanted something with a clutch and this dirtbike was tempting. the guy wanted $2500, i test rode it, loved it, came back a week later and offered him $2000. i took it home that night. since then ive been riding it around the house, not getting out of 2nd gear. so i go to my friends house again yesterday to ride around a bit and apparently they had just finished a motocross track down the road. so we went down there, putted around for a while... it was getting kinda boring so i decided to ride how it should be ridden. i was clearing 40 foot doubles by the end of the day. talk about a rush. sorry for the long read, thought id just tell you a little about myself.

• TL426

Posted September 25, 2006 - 05:59 PM

oh yea.. details on the bike...