Must Do Mods for New WR400 F

8 replies to this topic
  • yamaha.dude

Posted December 05, 2001 - 11:45 PM

Hello, a newbie here, but I hope to make a contribution here possible in the future.

After many months of research, I have made the decision to get a WR400F as opposed to the KTM 400 EXC. Please don't all write and tell me about electric buttons etc... The decision was so close and what made it for me was my son, who is getting his first bike this xmas - a TTR-90 - he was so sweet when he said he wanted to be just like me, that I reasoned that I had to get a Yamaha, rather than force him to learn on one of those bumblebee KTM 50's... So...

Having done so much research, I now feel that i know the WR400 pretty well. I reckon there are some highly desirable mods to be made almost straightaway The way I see it, the mods would be:

Throttle slide - trimmed back.
Exahust restrictor - removed.
Handlebars replaced - this goes along with the next two...
Steering Damper - GPR seesm to be the one to get.
Top Triple Clamp - any suggestions?

What else would you experienced owner recommend... I am not after the ultimate power machine, ... Air box lid?

Of course I plan to have the front and rear suspension retuned to my size - 6'6" and 260lbs I reckon that I would need to move the bars forward and have a higher bend...

Anyone with direct experience of Pivot Pegs - www.eatmydirt.com.au/pivotpegz/ ?

What about clutch baskets?

I will obviously consider a pipe, replacement ignition etc aftetr I get used to the bike, but I want to get the weak/unsuitable/restrictive things out of the way ASAP.

Thanks for your input... Let me know So I can hit the dealer up for some stuff before he forgets he sold me the bike...

David

• Taffy

Posted December 06, 2001 - 01:40 AM

dude? in aus? are you an american who turned left at hawai?

well mr dude person.

we don't have grey wire to trim but we also don't have a throttle stop to trim back so you're ok there.