Is it time for a 4-stroker?

3 replies to this topic
  • DSRT_BND

Posted December 04, 2001 - 08:23 AM

I'm mostly a dune rider. I've been riding CR500s for 10 years. Question is: is it time to sell the 500 and go to the new CRF450 or WR426?

With all the green sticker/red sticker and dune closures I'm thinking I could street legalize a 4-stroke, legally ride in many parts of the desert, yet still slap the paddle on when heading to the dunes. I'm not sure they make a better dune bike than a CR500, but I'm feeling limited on riding opportunities. I think a street-legalized CRF450 or WR/YZ426 would be far more versatile.

Do these bikes have enough wallop and are they light enough to maintain the 500's fun factor in the dunes?

• z4me

Posted December 04, 2001 - 08:27 AM

From everything I have read on this site - you will not have an easy time getting a green sticker for either bike nor be able to make them street legal. The California model KTM 520 sounds like a better choice for your situation as it is green stickered to start with.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Blue_Boner

Posted December 04, 2001 - 05:06 PM

I've taken my plated WR to Glamis and had no problems with power. You are very right about the plated 4-stroke and riding areas, endless. I know the CRF450 is a sweet bike but it would cost a fortune to dualsport because it has no lighting provisions, like the YZ. So get the WR or better yet buy a KTM 520EXC. My brother just got his last Friday and it makes my 400 seem weak and all it needs is a skidplate and a steering dampner to be race ready. Goodluck, Eric

• Pete_Z

Posted December 05, 2001 - 04:11 AM