Jetting experts please look

16 replies to this topic
  • Wheels up

Posted September 17, 2006 - 04:21 AM

I have been riding my 04 XR 650 L for about 6 months since I put a Mikuni Flatslide 38 MM carb on it. Also all the other usual mods have been done.

The bike starts great hot or cold. When I shut it off though it backfires through the exhaust with authority. It's a very loud backfire. I checked the plug and it's a medium brown color. I installed a new plug, fired it up, ran it through the gears wide open a few times and then hauled the plug out. It looks fine.

Why would the bike backfire? Also there is a small flatspot around 1/4 throttle, then it's a beast.

Main Jet: 260
Pilot Jet: 27.5
Needle in middle position

Please help :thumbsup:

• snaggleXR650

Posted September 17, 2006 - 04:52 AM

Hey,
I run a TM40 pumper on my 650R. Those Mikuni's come setup goofy sometimes. Your carb takes the same jets as mine, and that 260 main jet CAN'T be right. Even if you mistyped and it's a 160, that is still WAY too rich. Also, you need to get in and check your needle jet (long brass tube that the main jet screws into, and that the needle goes into), and the needle # itself. Also, there is a small brass air jet in the mouth of the carb intake, see what this is also.

My setup is;

22.5 pilot
1.2 air jet
Y-4 needle jet
9DJY03 needle, 4th clip, or 9DJY04 needle, 3rd clip
140-145 main jet (depending on exhaust pipe)

Other than your hotcam, your 10.25:1 piston and my 10:1 piston, our motors should be jetted within the same ballpark. Of course your smaller bore carb will make a difference...

• Wheels up

Posted September 17, 2006 - 09:52 AM

I am confused. The jets that I have are stamped with 230 through 270 on the main's and 17.5 through 30 on the pilot jet.

Today i tried moving the needle up one notch. It's now 2nd from the bottom. I put in a 20 pilot and kept the 260 main.
I have a 2.0 air bleed in.

Still backfires.

• Wheels up

Posted September 18, 2006 - 01:43 PM