Quickshot cover vs. BK mod

7 replies to this topic
  • Goosedog

Posted September 10, 2006 - 02:16 PM

I know both these mods have probably been covered extensively here at TT but I couldn't find a direct comparison so I'm asking. Maybe they're not even apples for apples so they can't be compared, do they even come close to performing the same task?

I am about to do a little carb maintenance and possibly replace the AP diaphragm in order to cure a stall/bog and thought I might do one of these two mods while I'm at it. I'm a rookie mechanic at best and think the adjusting (not the installing) part of the BK mod might be more than I can handle so therefor the pump cover is definitely more appealing.

• drz400boy

Posted September 13, 2006 - 08:42 AM

I'm at the same point you are with my '02 426...let me know what you come up with and how it worked for you!

• Goosedog

Posted September 13, 2006 - 01:47 PM

Will do :thumbsup:

• YZ426F Rider

Posted September 13, 2006 - 03:12 PM

I have heard that the quickshot does not help very much. Don't know a thing about the BK mod.

What I do know is that once I installed my ZipTy fuel screw and got it dialed in just right (I do it before every ride now) and raised my idle speed a little bit, that my zero to 1/4 throttle bog problem has essentially disappeared. That combined with the hotcams auto-decomp cam has virtually eliminated the problems associated with stalling, i.e., if it does happen to bog-stall (which is rare now) it will generally fire back up under compression as long as I am carrying a little of speed.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Fastest1

Posted September 13, 2006 - 03:30 PM