Amsoil over Motul oil?

4 replies to this topic
  • DrKtmkid

Posted September 10, 2006 - 12:51 PM

I've been using Motul synthetic oil in my KTM450exc since I got it about 9 months ago. I recently used Amsoil synthetic in my Dr650 and was really happy with the results. I was thinking about switching to Amsoil in my KTM...Any suggestions, advise?

• markbxr400

Posted September 10, 2006 - 12:56 PM

I use the Amsoil 20W50 in my 450EXC. Works great. As frequently as I change oil (every 7-10 hours), I could probably use about any MC oil. But for the $$, The Amsoil is a good oil.

• EM_rider

Posted September 10, 2006 - 01:16 PM

I've been using Motul synthetic oil in my KTM450exc since I got it about 9 months ago. I recently used Amsoil synthetic in my Dr650 and was really happy with the results. I was thinking about switching to Amsoil in my KTM...Any suggestions, advise?

I'm sure you could switch to Amsoil from the Motul. Actually, any quality motorcycle synthetic would be fine. I've used Motul, Mobil 1 and Amsoil in the past.....basically whatever is handy.

I'm curious about what made you "happy with the results" of using Amsoil in your DR650? Did you notice a difference in performance, operating temps? I can't notice any difference between the oils listed above.
R

• Jaycycle

Posted September 10, 2006 - 01:26 PM

I'm curious about what made you "happy with the results" of using Amsoil in your DR650? Did you notice a difference in performance, operating temps? I can't notice any difference between the oils listed above.
R

Yes Im curious about the same thing...

• DrKtmkid

Posted September 10, 2006 - 01:47 PM