Newbie on the loose

13 replies to this topic
  • sledskiing

Posted September 06, 2006 - 05:19 PM

Just wanted to introduce myself to the forum. I am in the process of picking up a used 03 WR450 (CO Titled but not converted). I am a beginner rider although i did have a sport bike in college. Looking forward to learning from all you verterans out there.

• clark4131

Posted September 06, 2006 - 06:23 PM

The only advice I have on the '03 is to check and see if the "woodruff key" problem has been fixed. Also, make sure you get a factory manual with it...it's invaluable. Other than those two items, welcome to the club...SC

• Just_a_trail_rider

Posted September 07, 2006 - 07:32 AM

Welcome...

I am veteran of riding on the street. I am still improving on my dirt riding skills and I am 18 months into it since getting my own bike. I am a veteran, however, of emergency room visits, ace bandages, ice packs, and busted up bike parts, etc...

Like you, I chose the big bad wr450 as my "first". I still wonder if that was the right choice. But it worked out well regardless. Please be gentle with it in the beginning.

Here are the five most important things you should worry about, especially when riding on dirt.

1. Ride within your limits. When you are out there watching everyone do seemingly amazing things, remember that you are not there yet. Ride with people who will respect your 'newbie' status. Absolutely everyone is cool with that, but you have to speak up so they will look out for you.

2. get the best safety gear you can afford. Protect you feet and knees as if they are the only pair of feet and set of knees that you've got. Oh yeah... get a safe and comfortable helmet also.

3. Get your suspension set up properly. front and rear springs should be the correct size ($200). You can install these yourself rather easily. Then adjust your race and free sag according to the book.