xr400 vs xr650

well i am not inexperience.. i have been riding all of my life.. i am just tired of 2 strokes.. i had always had trail bikes.. but then i started riding at my local track.. so i got a motocross bike.. the cr suspension it too stiff for the trails.. and i am looking to get a xr400 or xr650.. i just wanted a opinion on which bike you thought would be better...

You probably don't want to hear this but have you thought about swapping your FMF fatty for a gnarly. It should make your 250 more thumper-like with more hit down low where you need it most.

Anyways, 400's are great for just about anything. 650's are more for desert and wide open stuff. 650's are a bitch to kick over too.

well i am not inexperience.. i have been riding all of my life.. i am just tired of 2 strokes.. i had always had trail bikes.. but then i started riding at my local track.. so i got a motocross bike.. the cr suspension it too stiff for the trails.. and i am looking to get a xr400 or xr650.. i just wanted a opinion on which bike you thought would be better...

Hate to steer you from a Honda, but honestly, get a KTM 450 or 520 EXC, you'll never ride the CR again.

How many times does this poor guy have to say he's asking questions about the differences between the XR400 and the XR650. He doesn't want a two-stroke, he doesn't want a KTM, and he doesn't want a different tire — period! I have an XR400, and I ride both open desert and tighter trails...I think the bike is a little underpowered for my own tastes, and I'd be inclined to get the XR650. On the other hand the air-cooled 400 is a simple trouble-free bike that doesn't need modification to the intake or exhaust to run right.