I'm a newb...just bought '02 YZ426

7 replies to this topic
  • drrty

Posted August 30, 2006 - 08:09 AM

Hey all...
I'm a newbie here. I just bought a 2002 YZ426 with the Auto Decomp cam, RG3 upper, and some other small mods. I haven't ridden dirt in almost 20 years. My recent background has been street riding (NOT stunting) on a 2006 R1LE (sold it in late July), and prior to that a 2001 Honda Superhawk.
I'm pretty impressed with the 426's power. I didn't expect it from this bike at all, what with it being a single cylinder and all. The previous owner used the bike for Hare Scrambles, which is what I'm looking at getting into.
Are there any common problems I need to be aware of or on the lookout for? According to the previous owner, the bike has been trouble-free and reliable. He said he was running an Open class in HS, and was running easily with 250's and 300's. Does that sound pretty accurate?

• grayracer513

Posted August 30, 2006 - 09:25 AM

Welcome.

An R1LE, hmm? Well, I guess we can rule out the question of whether you can deal with horsepower right away, can't we? IMO, riding one of those in a civilized manner is stunt in and of itself.

The big YZF's are notorious for their reliability, and for any shortcomings in weight or handling they might arguably have, they just about as dependable as machinery is capable of being.

The only real issues that come to mind are that 3rd, 5th, and to a lesser extent 4th gears can get beat up and start jumping in and out of engagement under a load. There have been reasonably rare instances of rod failure in 426's, but that was mostly the earlier '00 model, as I recall.