KL (BK) mod

13 replies to this topic
  • Guy

Posted November 25, 2001 - 10:29 PM

Hi there, can anyone tell me if doing this mod will be affective for a UK bike or is it a US only mod like the grey wire???
I'm kinda new to this 4 stroke business and I don't want to Bollox up my bike if it is not ness for mine
My bike is a '99 WR400

[ November 25, 2001: Message edited by: Guy ]

• MN_Kevin

Posted November 25, 2001 - 12:14 PM

Guy,
Your bike will benefit if your Accelerator Pump Jet [APJ] needs adjustment.

Your squirt duration should be set to < 0.5 seconds,

and

the squirt should not hit the slide valve [APJ timing].

http://www.thumperta...ic&f=3&t=005746

• Guy

Posted November 25, 2001 - 12:52 PM

:) Thanks for that Kevin....I'll try it out and see where I get to :D

• Guy

Posted November 25, 2001 - 01:21 PM

:) :D Just re-read your thread re the mod and there is one more thing.....any chance of translating the drill sizes and bolt sizes into either "imperial" ie 1/8 dril etc or "metric" as a #43 drill bit don't mean a thing to me!! :D :D

• The_Missile

Posted November 26, 2001 - 05:17 AM

BK mod is NOT for 98 or 99 but for 2000+ models. What makes the BK mod inapplicable on the 98 and 99 is that the tab that you drill out & tap is inexistant.

For 98, 99 models there are 4 options

- remove apj activity altogether (see taff timing & jetting)
- BK mod with alternative support bracket (recently posted)
- p38 lightning - replacement gizmo
- KL mod tapping the apj cover with an adjustment bolt/nut

tapping the apj cover: adjusting the diaphragm movement by blocking it with an adjustable screw you fit in the tapped apj cover.

'bracket' mod : was used to hold the bk apj "stopper". Recent thread covers this, even with (terrible) photos.

A coupla minutes with the search function should find it for you.
here is the thread...BK(KL) mod
but I guess you already new that as you referred to above I now realise....am I confused or WHAT??