How bad are the stock 2006 tires?

14 replies to this topic
  • Merk67

Posted August 10, 2006 - 05:08 AM

Yesterday I was on an MX track for the 2nd time in my life. To me, the front tire on my 2006 YZ450F seemed to push way too easily through turns. I crashed once that way. Granted, I'm brand new to MX and a better riding technique would help tremendously. But still.... it seemed pretty bad. I'm an ex-roadracer, so although I'm new to MX I do know what a front-end push/slide feels like. I tried pushing my weight as far up as possible, and that helped, but the front was still pushing like a plow. The rear came all the way around on me once too...but I think that one was operator error. Are new tires a worthwhile investment even though the stock ones still have life in them? Or should I shut-up, ride a little bit slower, and concentrate on my riding technique instead? Thanks.

• WFOracer

Posted August 10, 2006 - 05:13 AM

Is you bike set up for you? Sag? Springs?

Most people have been dropping there fork to the first line. It should help with the fork push. Depending on what kind of track that you were riding, the front tire might not have been the right choice. But, I think that most people will agree that the stock 739 is junk. I would recommend replacing it as well at the stock chain with a DID ERT or a renthal R1.

• ben_suhard

Posted August 10, 2006 - 08:24 AM

Yesterday I was on an MX track for the 2nd time in my life. To me, the front tire on my 2006 YZ450F seemed to push way too easily through turns. I crashed once that way.

I also crashed really hard on the first day I rode my '06(My shoulder is still sore a month later, I think I separated the ac). I blamed it on the tyre, but I also believe it was my fault because the front brake works very well! The stock 739 front tyre is designed for hardpacked dirt, so you may want to try 756, which is good for loose dirt or sand, or a 742 which is in between, depending on what terrain you ride on.