DS lighting questions.

4 replies to this topic
  • hypersthenos

Posted August 07, 2006 - 10:04 PM

Couple things I'm interested in looking into. #1-I have limited knowledge & no experience with LEDs. I understand they produce bright, visible light with less wattage than standard incandescent bulbs. Are replacement LED units made to replace standard bulbs or are further mods necessary? I have a BD DSK with the standard signal setup. I would like to simply use my standard signal setup with LEDs in them if possible. The stock setup ain't all that visible during the day with the standard bulbs in place. #2-I'm planning on purchasing the BD LED tail light/lic. plate mount setup which goes under the fender. Is it designed to be used in conjunction with the stock tail light or just by itself. I'd like to run both for maximum visibility but don't want to draw too many amps. All is well if I can run LEDs in the stock tail light lens with their decreased power requirement (I'm assuming).

• snaggleXR650

Posted August 08, 2006 - 03:49 AM

The tail light is no issue. I bought just the BD clear tail light (no fender extension mount) and made my own taillight mounting bracket/license plate mount. Just plug it in and go.

Just for the heck of it, I pulled the bulb from the original BD brake/tail light and crammed it into the small stock tail/running light that's on the 650R's fender and wired it in also. Be warned, it's too big, and the heat will melt a small dimple into the plastic lense. There are slicker ways (LED's) of turning the 650R's tail light into a brake light, but this is what my lazy arse did. Now, I have the BD LED brake light AND the stock fender light converted to a brake light.