xr650l questions

8 replies to this topic
  • sweetk30

Posted August 07, 2006 - 03:42 PM

first off yes i am a noob to this site. i was told this is #1. looks great.

i have a 93 xr650l with a bad output shaft. it had a chain drop at one time in its past and chew off the splines. some yaho welded the sprocket on. but as it is hardened steel shaft and soft sprocket it didn't hold to good. so the sprocket wore the square teeth to triangles. i need to split the case and replace it.

i did get a factory Honda service Manuel for the bike. as all of my ATVs over the years have needed work and they are just best to have.

i have been looking at ebay for goodys and parts. i found a aftermarket shaft for 1/2 price of Honda. has anyone used one yet? i don't want to wast my time and effort on it if i don't half to.

second i got a new hot cam stg 1 for it. anything i should look out for when replacing the cam?

and last i figure if its all apart for the shaft replacement i might just freshen up the top end and install a new piston kit. i was looking at a j.e. forged 10.25:1 kit with a 1mm over bore. and what is involved with the bigger piston kit? will this make the bike to much for the street or not.

i plan to play and street ride this bike. thanks for any and all help you can give a new bike owner.

• XR650L_Dave

Posted August 08, 2006 - 04:51 AM

You could take this moment to repl;ace the shaft with an XR600R shaft, and re-fit the kickstarter if you want.
Or, you could put in a whole 600R tranny and get rid of the huge 1-2 gap.

Hey, what part of NY?

dave

• sweetk30

Posted August 08, 2006 - 03:00 PM

You could take this moment to repl;ace the shaft with an XR600R shaft, and re-fit the kickstarter if you want.
Or, you could put in a whole 600R tranny and get rid of the huge 1-2 gap.
dave

sorry but what does this half to do with my problems. :thumbsup:

my zip is 14845 horseheads ny were are you?

• HappyCurmudgeon

Posted August 09, 2006 - 03:17 AM