What year yz450 handles the best?

13 replies to this topic
  • x2stroker

Posted July 27, 2006 - 12:02 PM

Hey Guys! I've been riding my 03 for 3 years now and I'm about ready to trade her in. I loved the power and reliabilty and I'm gonna miss her. But, I'm hoping the later models won't have the top heavy feel of the 03.

As far as handling goes, how far has Yami progressed with the later bikes and which year is the best? I'm leaning towards a used one but a new one isn't completely out of the question...

• Baron Von Beard

Posted July 27, 2006 - 12:03 PM

2007, but the 2006 is light years ahead of any of the previous years.

• x2stroker

Posted July 27, 2006 - 12:09 PM

Do the 06 / 07 models really handle that much better? How about the 04 and 05 models, are they superior to the 03?

• Baron Von Beard

Posted July 27, 2006 - 12:13 PM

I haven't ridden the 07 but my 06 handles sooooo much better than my 05 CRF and the 03 YZ450 that it's not even funny. Yes, it handles that much better. It feels like a 125 sized bike.

• Reyndogg

Posted July 27, 2006 - 12:24 PM

Do the 06 / 07 models really handle that much better? How about the 04 and 05 models, are they superior to the 03?

I couldn't care less if you buy one or not, so this is completely unbiased - there is absolutely NO comparison between the 03/04/05 vs. the 06. It's not even close. I rode a 2005 YZ450F for ONE lap and brought it back to the pits right away...the owner of that 05 that took my 06 out didn't come back for about 20 min. What does that tell you?

The 2006 YZ is unreal. I couldn't be happier with it, and there isn't a bike at any dealership today that I would trade it for :thumbsup:

That's my .02, your mileage may vary. :ride:

• x2stroker

Posted July 27, 2006 - 12:27 PM

What size are you RedBeard? I'm 5' 10" 165lbs and I've never been able to flick it around. I've gotten a lot better but it's not like riding my friends 2 stroke 250's....

• Baron Von Beard

Posted July 27, 2006 - 12:31 PM