I keep frying coils. Need headlight bypass solution??

11 replies to this topic
  • StreetbikePimp

Posted July 10, 2006 - 08:35 AM

Hello all,

I own a 2003 WR450 which I race in Harescrambles. I have removed the headlight and taillight on my bike because I didn't want to spend the money on replaceing them after they get broke during a race. (I crash alot...)

Anyway, I have fried to ignition coils in the last 2 years, and I suspect (correct me if I'm wrong) that it's because I'm not running a headlight or tailight on the bike.

Well, I really don't want to put the headlight back on the bike to save my coils because I know that eventually the headlight will get broken. (the coils are cheaper to replace then the headlight) Is there something else that can be done?? Plug in a different, really cheap bulb....wire in a resistor of some sorts....

When it comes to electrical I'm a complete noobie so any help at all would highly appriciated. Also, am I wrong about why the coils are going bad? :ride:

• Thumper_Bloke

Posted July 10, 2006 - 08:53 AM

Did you test for an overcharging situation? What's the battery like? Does electric start work fine? If you test the voltage at the battery when the engine is running, at idle and about 4000 rpm, what is the voltage at these two different RPMs?

I would make the stock system works, its fine for the rest of us why is yours different?

• woodster

Posted July 10, 2006 - 10:03 AM

i am having similer problems with wr's and yfz quads, i have a few theories and have tried a few things but still not 100% to the bottom of this yet, the yamaha ac/dc system is weird, interested to hear from others with problems.

• ncmountainman

Posted July 10, 2006 - 10:41 AM

i don't think thats the problem,i ran my 04 wr without a headlight(or battery) forever. but like you i'm a electrical ignoramus sooo... :ride:

• Rich_in_Orlando

Posted July 10, 2006 - 01:03 PM