bog

7 replies to this topic
  • 116CJ

Posted June 27, 2006 - 05:31 PM

i have read the jetting thread and i did a search. I have an 06 450 and when its idling and i wack the throttle it bogs or hesitates then hits. Is this common? it seems to get better as i move out the air screw but should it be out 3 1/4-1/2 turns out? I have tried the 170 main, 168 main and 165 and i have tried the 45 pilot with the 168 and 170. now i dont notice it much while ridding but if your sitting there idling and just wack it, it does it which leads me to think something needs an adjustment. or is this what the boysen quick shot fixes. I am new to 4 strokes so any help is apreciated.

• WFOracer

Posted June 27, 2006 - 05:48 PM

I have the 06 as well and swapped out the stock jetting. I run about 800' elevation - 70-90 degrees

I went with a 48 pilot and run either a 170 or 165 main, depending on temp. My fuel screw is usually around 2 turns out, give or take a 1/4 turn.

• grayracer513

Posted June 27, 2006 - 05:58 PM

First, the bike needs a bigger pilot. I run a 45. Go with a 45-48.

Second, what it does in neutral is meaningless. the timing and advance curve are different in neutral than once in gear.

Third, what everyone needs to understand about 4-strokes is that even with an accelerator pump and perfect jetting, they can be shut down by snapping the throttle open hard enough at the spec'd idle speed in most cases. Attempting to get rid of that requires going beyond the accel pump and jetting levels that are needed for good performance. You should, instead, learn to roll the throttle open rather than snap it.