91 xr 600 HELP!!!!

2 replies to this topic
  • highdrive6

Posted June 19, 2006 - 01:44 PM

hello, i am new to your thumper room and looking for help!I bought a 91 600 and i rebuilt the head and new timing chain few other odds and ends and as i was cleaning the carb realized that this had a mukuni flat slide carb, in my manual it shows a kehein carb!.Did this bike ever come with this carb?i found some info that honda offered a 660 big bore kit that came with a different cyl ,piston and carb? is this what happened somewhere down the line before i got it? I am having problems starting.It has a fmf mega max and the carb has a 250 main jet and i cant read the pilot jet size.when i did have the bike running for just a couple of minutes it idled good but when i reved it up it bogged for second and then it reved up good, it back fired and shut down.I have only had it fired up 2 times after that and it has'nt stayed running long enough to get a good idea to start from.I was going to check my valve clearances again and try to find out more on this carb and why its on this bike, any info would be great! I worked mostly on 2 strokers the last four stroke i rebuilt was a 75 sl350 and my last bike was a yz490 . i want to feel what this big dog can do , thanks highdrive6

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • cleonard

Posted June 19, 2006 - 03:33 PM

No, it's not the stock carb. The stock carb, which I have, kind of sucks. A different carb is a commom mod. I'd say the first thing to do is clean that carb out real good. If the bike was sitting long, it's likely all clogged up.

If the timing chain is off by one tooth, it's very hard to start and it will not run right if it runs at all.

• highdrive6

Posted June 19, 2006 - 06:58 PM