How long can I expect to get out of my stock Clutch?

12 replies to this topic
  • MountainMax

Posted June 08, 2006 - 06:44 PM

I was wondering about the longevity of the stock clutch plates. I was doing some rough, tight, stumpy trail driving last night, about 2km of very slow 1'st gear driving while slipping the clutch a little and had to adjust up my clutch as it wore alot very fast. the bike is farily new, 550km only, is the clutch still breaking in or does it wear this fast??

Posted Image

• ddialogue

Posted June 08, 2006 - 07:56 PM

I've been running a Rekluse on my 03 WR450 since March 2003 and I'm still using the stock plates.

As long as you're not abusing it, you should get plenty of mileage out them. :applause:

• pkcof

Posted June 08, 2006 - 09:45 PM

i do a lot of that kind of riding ... the stock clutch is pretty good at taking abuse (to a point). As the plates heat up they expand a little and some adjustment is required but as long as you change your oil regularly and use good quality oil i'd be surprized if you had to change any plates real soon. I have 2,750klm on my '05 and most of that is tight woods/hills and rocks. My clutch feels nicely bedded-in and i expect to double that distance before i need to think about starting to replace anything there...
...hope that helps

• 427fastback

Posted June 08, 2006 - 10:29 PM

I got my 99 new and have been riding tight technical 1st and 2nd gear trails ever since.I have never re-adjusted my clutch or had any problems.I pulled the plates out once and checked them and put them back in.
I do change my oil every 5 rides and am by no means a clutch abuser.

I actually have had zero problems with this bike other than reg wear and tear and common problems such as the fraying throttle cables..

Cory

• MountainMax

Posted June 09, 2006 - 12:28 PM

thanks guys, I figured it would be reliable considering it is a Yamaha...... :applause:

I just got worried when she got hot and i needed to adjust on the trail