Need some help, 650L missing when I get on it

3 replies to this topic
  • cb4004

Posted June 01, 2006 - 05:48 PM

Hello All
I'm a newbie to TT and appreciate you help in advance.

I recently picked up a 94 650L, it's got 7500 mil on it and is in good shape for a 12 year old bike.

I have noticed when I get on the throttle hard it will hick up a little, it doesn't do it if I am going through gears easy only when I really get on it and the RPM are high. Does this sound like dirty jets?

Thank you Tom

• goblin127

Posted June 01, 2006 - 05:56 PM

Could be the jets,but have you checked the air filter?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • radvocaat

Posted June 01, 2006 - 06:07 PM

Hello All
I'm a newbie to TT and appreciate you help in advance.

I recently picked up a 94 650L, it's got 7500 mil on it and is in good shape for a 12 year old bike.

I have noticed when I get on the throttle hard it will hick up a little, it doesn't do it if I am going through gears easy only when I really get on it and the RPM are high. Does this sound like dirty jets?

Thank you Tom

Sounds like a problem I had. I tried everything I could think of, or that my Friends or shop could think of. Even spent $$$ to have the shop clean it as I had a number of times. Finally I borrowed a Friends carb and it ran fine, so I swapped the slide/diaphram and it worked fine. Now it runs great! Not sure what would have caused this, but I'm glad it's gone. I suspect the diaphram had a slight warp to it, since I couldn't find even a small hole. Just over a hundred bucks Canadian for a new slide/diaphram. Had to drill the new one but it works great now. If you have access to another carb, try swap'n the slide. If your diaphram doesn't seal properly, then when you're under full throttle and needing that vacuum the most, it will sputter. Have you checked the valves. Running good fuel?

:applause: good luck

• FOUR STOKED