Easy Starting

4 replies to this topic
  • Tugsy

Posted May 31, 2006 - 08:14 AM

I am new to the XR 650 after coming off 2 strokes. My question is more of observation that I am surprised about and want to make sure that the bike is okay. I purchased a used 2003 with about 1200 miles on and just recently adjusted the valves ( they were just a hair out). Now here is my surprise. For years I have been told that kicking the BRP to start is major hassle. My surprise is that it kicks and starts on 1st or second kick with very little resistance. I thought the compression would be so great that it would be very difficult but it is not that bad at all. Does the bike have an auto decompression lever besides the handlebar lever? Bike flat out rips and runs fine so I can not imagine the compression is bad. Am I just being surprised or is there something I should look for. No burning oil or other problems that I can see. Bike idles and accelerates fine. Just wondering if the hard starting is a myth. Stock carb and uncorked with HRC tip in. Thanks

• creeky

Posted May 31, 2006 - 08:22 AM

The 650R does have an autodecompressor fitted on the camshaft, it has the same effect as the decompressor lever in that it holds the RH exhaust valve partially open at the correct time to aid starting. If you use the kick start lever to slowly push the engine through two or three cycles, the autodecompressor will disengage and you will feel quite a bit of compression resistance.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • qadsan

Posted May 31, 2006 - 08:38 AM