I am no mechanical doctor please confirm my diagnosis

8 replies to this topic
  • finglan

Posted October 27, 2001 - 01:39 PM

The last two short rides on my 01 WR 426 I got alot of sputter at about half throttle in any gear. Much more pronounced than when the grey wire was connected. If I gave it more gas it would go away. I changed the plug at about 100 miles and it was a little brown. The bike has about 600 miles on it now and the plug was full of carbon along w/some carbon in the head pipe.
The air box lid is removed and I have a YZ throttle stop in. I have a Baja Designs exhaust baffle. It has always started on the second kick and if I dumped it w/the hot start it would start on the first kick. So I have never made any jetting changes.
I cleaned the carb and raised the needle two clips. My thought was that it has been running a little rich and the plug was starting to foul. It is in the basement for the winter so I will not be testing the jetting change until spring time. I have rode it when it was colder out then now and it ran fine. I am wondering if I am heading in the right direction for the fix.

• Taffy

Posted October 27, 2001 - 03:12 PM

i was reading your diagnosis ands i thought to m#yself mmmmmm, down a clip, nope! down two! and then i read that you've gone up two clips.

put it back as was.

Taffy

• DOC

Posted October 27, 2001 - 06:09 PM

He said he raised the needle two clips, so he must have lowered the clip two spots.
Take it back to clip no.3 and if still no go, try no.2. Everyone seems to be running too rich.

• MN_Kevin

Posted October 28, 2001 - 12:22 AM

Since it is put away for the winter, pull the carb, completely disassemble it, and clean it THOROUGHLY. The weak link on the 98/99's is the accelerator pump system...very prone to dirt intrusion.

I know the 2000/2001's use a completely different setup for the AP.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • finglan