450 longevity

7 replies to this topic
  • pdxr6

Posted May 09, 2006 - 05:55 AM

I am looking at buying my first 450. I am curious what I can expect for longevity of the 450, considering the previous owner performed regular maintenence. TIA

• dbailey223

Posted May 09, 2006 - 10:11 AM

If it's an 03 450, check into whether the 04 parts were slapped on it to replace the 03 starter parts. I shouldn't say this because I'll probably jinx myslef, but I have the 03 and have not had the starter problems that many have had.

• pdxr6

Posted May 09, 2006 - 01:08 PM

How many miles are people getting before a major rebuild? I am new to dirt bikes so I don't know what to expect. I ride sportbikes and I know as long as you keep up on maintance they will run for a very long time.

• andyb74

Posted May 09, 2006 - 02:14 PM

i pick my 04 wr450 up on saturday av the socalled starting probs been sorted on this model or ?????????????
thanks in advance
andy

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Frank_z28

Posted May 09, 2006 - 02:57 PM

If it's an 03 450, check into whether the 04 parts were slapped on it to replace the 03 starter parts. I shouldn't say this because I'll probably jinx myslef, but I have the 03 and have not had the starter problems that many have had.

I just buy a 2003 and my i have some problem with my starter. The casing is broken where the bolt hold it. I don't know if that the common problem with the 2003 starter. When ill buy a new one what the best thing to do or buy to avoid breaking it.

• dbailey223

Posted May 09, 2006 - 04:06 PM

The starter issue was only with the 03, as far as I know. Lots of posts here if you do a search. For the 03s, a "fix" that the dealers did involved the fabled "woodruff key" and a little loctite. It has worked for me so far. Fingers crossed. The dealer did it before I picked up the bike new.