accelerator pump timing?

9 replies to this topic
  • electroman

Posted May 04, 2006 - 06:44 PM

This is my first attempt of doing the adjustment. can anyone explain the whole free play thing. The only way I can get rid of the free play is by screwing in the screw all the way.

• OneToGo

Posted May 04, 2006 - 07:03 PM

This is a simple adjustment that can take some time. I did it when my bike was new and recently checked it - slightly out.

If you have the manual it is on page 4-18.

To do it properly you have to loosen the carb so you can space the throttle slide at 3.1mm, then adjust the link.
The screw acts against a cam. In short:
1. Screw all the way in
2. use index finger (left) to pull against cam back towards the thread, you will feel a few mm of "slop"
3. Screw the adjsuter back out, this "slop" reduces

A picture is worth a thousand words so if you dont have the manaul there is a FREE pdf manual available for viewing OR download on the Aussie Yamaha website. I have it and makes for easy browsing....
If you cant find I have the page scanned and have sent it to TTers in the past - let me know.
Dial it in and it makes a difference...
Easy once done once
:crazy:

• electroman

Posted May 04, 2006 - 07:06 PM

thanks a million will do.

• Beejay

Posted May 04, 2006 - 09:12 PM

What benifit do you achieve with this adjustment?

• OneToGo

Posted May 04, 2006 - 11:15 PM

It is just what it says:

Accelerator pump timing adjustment:

Really it adjusts the START of the accelerator pump squirt. If you video the squirt, you can adjust the duration via leak jets and pump diaphrams, this AP timing adjustment changes the squirt start. Too slack (screw to far IN) and it occurs late.