Scored cam journal - would you ride it 300 miles?

5 replies to this topic
  • epilord

Posted May 03, 2006 - 01:59 PM

I just adjusted my valves, '01 wr426, in preparation for the Sheetiron 300 and the center journal of the intake cam is scored . Could be worse, could be better. I don't know how long it's been that way, probably a result of an improperly tightened cam cap or temporary oil starvation.

Has anyone else seen this, said screw it, and ridden a fair amount of time with no trouble? It still runs fine..........need advice.

TIA

• CISCO

Posted May 03, 2006 - 02:22 PM

Denpending on the amount of scoring...it is possible to keep riding it.
I have been servicing a customers WR426 with scored journals for 2 years and he is still riding it that way. He didnt care to fix it and it is still working fine. If the scoring is bad enough and the coating on the cam is compromised, the cam will seize in the journal.

• epilord

Posted May 03, 2006 - 03:18 PM

Thanks for the reply. The cam had some very light scuffing. I'm going to attempt to break the bike the next couple of weeks and if nothing changes I'll attempt the big ride.
Question for you: does the engine need to be pulled in order to remove the head?

TIA

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • unkle_george

Posted May 03, 2006 - 04:12 PM

No, you can pull the head with the motor in the bike.
http://www.thumperta...ad.php?t=325554

There's a company mentioned in this thread that said they could fix it for < $100.

I'm sure alot of bikes have this problem and the owners don't even know, just that they start hard.
Good luck
- Ryan

• GCannon

Posted May 04, 2006 - 09:58 AM