some questions on a 1996 YZ250

8 replies to this topic
  • MIyzrider

Posted May 01, 2006 - 08:18 AM

I'm basically new to riding, this is the start of my second season. I purchased a 1996 yz250 last memorial weekend.
It supposedly had a upper end rebuild (including new cylinder) , I've since changed the clutch, and replaced tires ( Dunlop 756 front, Maxxis IT desert rear) , it has stock gearing (13/49) , Boysen rad valve and a Fatty pipe on it.
I rode it all last season with no problems and like the bike but now as usual with some things it just isn't fast enough. I ride mostly trails ( Lewiston /Gaylord area) , that are pretty sandy and fast (snowmobile trails) .

Are there any recommendations for this bike either to make it faster or just a better set up for the way I ride.
This is basically a 3rd sport for me ( boat and snowmobile) so dumping a ton of money into it isn't going to happen, Now if I sell my boat I'll most likely pick up a YZ450F but til then I'm stuck with the 250.

• dirtrida010

Posted May 02, 2006 - 04:38 AM

you might wanna check ur compression and change ur gearing more towards accleration if ur riding woods alot. correct me if im wrong

• MIyzrider

Posted May 02, 2006 - 05:29 AM

I guess I need to know what the difference between "woods" and "trail" riding is first.

We usually run snowmobile trails which have a lot of straights and sweeping corners. I'm usually in 3-5 and WFO most of the time.

Tonight I'm going to check the compression. I'm about 230lbs so I'm sure that's pretty heavy for a 250.

I've already started looking into porting, possibly big bore. But if it starts to cost too much I'll just leave it , ride it and eventually buy a thumper.

• yz440e

Posted May 02, 2006 - 08:49 PM

He means compression of the engine, is that what your talking about or are you talking about suspension compression, the weight comment threw me off.