Xr650r Electric Start

11 replies to this topic
  • HONDAXR

Posted April 28, 2006 - 04:13 PM

Has anyone tried any of the electric start kits?
My knee is messed up and trying to start my XR isn't helping out.

• Mudshark

Posted April 28, 2006 - 04:48 PM

Yup, I'm getting over the hill a bit too... lets see some pics of your E-Start
conversions... I hear theyre butt ugly, but would love to see one or two
before taking the plunge. :crazy:

• BLSBRKR65

Posted April 28, 2006 - 05:14 PM

Got my electric start XR650R on Ebay right now. Check out item no. 4634308693

• Old_Man_Time

Posted April 28, 2006 - 05:31 PM

I have been running it since June of 2004 with no problems.

Posted Image

Posted Image

• Mudshark

Posted April 28, 2006 - 05:55 PM

Thanks for the pics OMT.. it does look a bit like a coffee can... but not as
bad as I thought. I figure I'll get me one as soon as finance allows.
How do you hook up the battery? I have a BD DSK, can I just route the
charge to the starter battery and run the DS stuff off it?
I'm running a dual output stator and have the main lights runniing off their
own coil via the AC regulator.
The second coil runs the BD DSK as normal (except for the head / taillight)
I guess I need to know if the BajaDesigns DC Regulator / Rectifier will be
able to keep the starter battery healthy?

• qadsan

Posted April 28, 2006 - 07:29 PM

I also have the BD e-start kit on one of my 650R's (my d/s 650R). It's ugly, but it's tough and it works. I've only had mine installed since ~July of last year, but it has worked flawless and I sometimes use it a couple times a week while playing around town. I was not impressed with the machine work on the side case, so I spiffed it up a bit by powder coating it. Here's some more pics...

BD e-start pic 1

BD e-start pic 2

BD e-start pic 3